You’ve decided to stop sharing your credit card with a specific authorized user. Maybe you never want to share it again, or maybe you just want to rethink the relationship. Whatever the reason, I’m here to help. In this post we’ll cover how to remove someone as an authorized user on your credit card, what happens when you do so, and why it’s not going to have any lasting impact on their credit score.
You can choose to stop sharing your credit card with them.
If you decide to remove a co-signer as an authorized user, it’s important to remember that this action will have consequences. If you were helping your friend or family member build their credit score and history, removing them from your account can damage their ability to qualify for future loans and other financial products. This can hurt both parties’ scores in the short term.
The good news is that there are alternatives to removing someone from an account. For example, if you no longer want them to be able to use your credit card but still want them on the account as something like a joint holder or trustee, that can be done as well! Just keep in mind that these types of changes will take time before showing up on either party’s report—it could take weeks or even months depending on when exactly they were made
Your relationship won’t be impacted by removing an authorized user.
Removing an authorized user from your credit report and/or credit score will not impact your relationship. You and the person you added as an authorized user do not share a unique social security number, so there is no reason to believe that removing them from your report or score will affect the relationship in any way.
In addition, removing an authorized user from either of these documents does not affect their credit score or history in any way. While removing them may make it difficult for potential lenders to see how responsible you are when it comes to taking out loans, it won’t directly hurt their ability to get loans themselves.
Removing their name from your card won’t hurt their credit score.
The truth is that removing an authorized user from your credit card account will not affect their credit scores. When lenders review your credit report and score, they are only looking at the information in it – and the information belongs to you. The impact that removing an authorized user has on your own credit score depends on whether or not they have been added as an authorized user to other accounts as well.
Credit card companies may also remove their names when requested by the primary cardholder (you). If you request a change to your account, then it’s possible that removal requests could affect both of your scores. However, if you make this decision together with them, any negative impact won’t last long – but only if there are no other outstanding debts associated with either party’s accounts.
But they’ll no longer have access to the rewards programs from that specific card.
You can still get rewards for purchases made with your card, but you won’t have access to the rewards program from that specific card. For example, if you have your own card and are added as an authorized user on someone’s account, then you will still be able to use their points or miles at any time.
However, things change once they remove you as an authorized user. You will no longer have access to the rewards programs from that specific card. Instead of earning points or miles when using this person’s credit card, it’s likely that they’ll send you a text message each time they make a purchase saying something along the lines of “I just got 5% cash back on my Amazon purchase.”
The good news here is that many people don’t bother with spending money just so they can collect rewards anyways!
Do what’s best for you and your financial well-being by removing them as an authorized user.
If you’ve decided that removing an authorized user from your credit card is the best decision, don’t delay. Many people have a false sense of security when it comes to their financial well-being because they think that removing someone as an authorized user won’t affect their credit score. However, you can still be held responsible for the card and its bills even if you remove them as an authorized user.
Removing someone as an authorized user may not be the right move if they are helping pay off debt with the account or keeping it current on time each month. In this case, you should consider keeping them on and making sure they are aware of all responsibilities associated with being added back onto the card.
When it comes to removing authorized users from your credit card, you have more control than you might think. You’re not required to tell them why, nor will it negatively affect their credit score. While this won’t hurt or benefit their financial position, they may feel slighted by the sudden loss of access to the rewards programs that came with being an authorized user. The best thing you can do is be upfront with them about your decision and explain why you’re making this choice.